K8055 Wiring Question

Hi all,

I am a little stuck on weiring the digital outputs of my K8055 board. I am currently trying to interface my rowing machine to my laptop. The rowing machine is a fairly basic rowing machine although it does have a fan like air resistance system. The the its really lacking is a decent rowing computer. The one it comes with simply measures time, distance, speed and estimated calories burn. Since I am software engineer by trade I figured I would have a go at writing my own by interfacing it with my laptop.

The rowing computer simply measures the number of rotations of the fan and the number of strokes (movements of the seat up and down the rail). Both of these are detected by a reed switch and a magnet attached to the moving part.

My plan was to run both my interface and the original rowing computer at the same time, so I could attmept to experimentally work out the relationship to the input and the outputs of the rowing computer. That way I can work out the formula for each of the outputs.

So far I have the reed switch on the fan hooked up to the input on my K8055. Then I have my software setting one of the digital outputs to match the status of the input. My idea was to connect the rowing computers input (what was originally connected to the reed switch) to that, the problem is it doesn’t work. I see the output LED flash but never see any speed values on the rowing computer. According to my multi meter the rowing computer has a 2.5 vault between the two input wires.

I think my understanding of how the digital outputs work and therefor is wrong. So my question is how do I wire the digital output to effectively work as a switch completing circuit of the rowing computers input.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Charlie M

If I understood right you like to replace the reed switch of your rowing machine with the digital output of the K8055.