What is your perferred programming environment?

Which programming environment do you like the most? Do you like the new free flavors of Microsoft Visual Studio or do you still prefer the good old Visual Basic 6 compiler more? Maybe you like a more open source environment like Dev C++? Have you tried Small Basic yet?

With this poll we hope to get a better understanding of what programming environments are the most popular at the moment, so give us your vote :slight_smile:

i wish i could tell you!!

but i’m not that experienced

i would say borland C++ because its the only programming language i know (was shown it briefly at college as i have said before.)

the c++ we used had no fancy screen (black), it just pumped out questions etc waiting for keystrokes to be made to make hardware do something)!!

Very little votes, but it seems like Visual Basic is winning

i’m not sure that 2 people would count as a runaway landslide of votes.

i’m assuming that velleman might be putting together a software package to make the k8055 work for people who don’t already have some advanced level of computing knowledge?

Can you please post examples in PowerBASIC PBwin & PBCC too
Thank you

I use VB6 almost exclusively for PC applications. The IDE and compiler are fast, as are well designed applications. Most recently I authored a commercial application for monitoring a vehicle’s OBD2 data via a Bluetooth connected device, it works like a champ on XP, Vista, and Windows 7…

This application is over 10k lines, uses three commercial ActiveX controls, and the SQLLite database.

VB6 is a long way from dead, in fact MS says they will support VB6 apps at least through Win7’s lifecycle–they have to as there are so many VB6 commercial applications out there.

I agree that VB6 is very easy to use but a concern is that the VB 6 compiler can’t be obtained for free + it can no longer be purchased, making it hard for beginners to jump into it…