Nice retraction test

Exiting! Printer is shaking and rattling like crazy but it’s getting there :).
Printing PLA on 0.2mm layer thickness, 33mm/sec, 200C, 74% Flow.
Retraction is set to 3mm, 150mm/sec.
Total print time: about 5 hours.

Very nice ! Congratulations!

i hope you are not triggering any earthquakes!

looks great!

That’s incredible. Very impressive. I’m really impressed with the printer so far. The quality is hard to beat when you get it right.

That looks really nice! Keep up the good work.

I haven’t thanked you yet, but now today seems to be the day :slight_smile:
You have helped me much with your pictures and sharing your settings. It has made it a lot easier for me and for that I am very grateful!

Regards
Mike

You’re welcome Mike!
But please note that I’m not an expert at all, this is my first printer. I do try to read and test as much as possible and I believe in sharing of knowledge and experiences. I’m quite surprised what quality you can achieve by finetuning, certainly taking into account that this is quite a cheap printer that you can/have to build yourself.

No guarantees on these settings of course ;).

Happy printing

Erik

Looks fantastic Erik! Absolutely fantastic! And thank you for all the tips :slight_smile:

I wish I had more time. I’m also very satisfied with the print quality on PLA which is really astonishing! This is my second printer… or actually fourth since I tried three units of CEL Robox and after third unit failing too I decided to take my money back and take another approach.

Facts I don’t have but my intuition says that there is no reason why we couldn’t get on par with Ultimaker 2 or even past it in print quality! (At least if browsing images of Ultimaker 2 prints)
Since Ultimaker costs three times the Vertex, I consider this unfair match! :smiley: Ultimaker 2 seems to be considered the best FDM printer after all.