Leaking extruder, advise pls

Extruder leaking between nozzle and cobber barrel…
Had tightend it, I thought, firmly. But cobber barrel broke when trying to tighten it further…:frowning:

Do I have to use a washer or anything else to make this functioning???
I will now buy a wrench which can measure 3.5 newtonm.

Anybody who has any advise??

Then please fil free, I have bought a new set, which I do not want to break :slight_smile:

Thanks

I used a little bit of sealant to prevent the leakage.
My extruder was also leaking although I tightened it to specs.

Thanks, 2stimpy
what type of sealant did you use?? was is fluid or a washer!!

I used a two component heat resistant epoxy.
I applied only a few drops.

Fixed a leaking extruder.
Mentioning a 3.5nm torque setting in an instruction manual is ridiculous, who other than an engineer has any idea of what that means. Not being an engineer myself or knowing anyone who is, I (and probably many others) felt that under tightening to be less of a problem than stripping the thread, resulted in me not tightening the tip enough, resulting in a leaking extruder. The manual states this is not repairable.
The only reason I could see for that statement is the difficulty of undoing the thread/tip that is filled with solid plastic. By just removing the extruder from the K8200 and heating the brass tip, the plastic remelts and as a liquid permits it to be unscrewed/removed.
The main problem with any brass on brass thread is they tend to bind against each other due (no two threads are a perfect fit). On re-assembling I did the logical thing that anyone assembling brass fittings normally do (and I should have done), and put some Teflon tape on the male thread.
Provided you don’t put to much tape on, the two items screw together easily. Then as you tighten the tip, it reaches a point where it just stops and you can feel it is tight enough.