Laser/milling CNC mod

Newbie here - just finished assembling my K8600.

Has anyone modified the Nano with either a laser or milling head? I’m interested in using the printer as part of a rapid prototyping process to create PCBs. Either a laser etch and photo/chemical process or a physical milling process would be great. If anyone has any guidance, suggestions or designs I’d be super interested.

Thanks

Mr Q

With all the dust produced by a CNC I’m not sure if that’s a good idea. The mainboard and other components are under the print bed are will be exposed to this hostile environment. Also I found (Chinese?) mini CNC/laser engravers that are very cheap nowadays. Here is an example: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Qiilu-Engraving-Wireless-Bluetooth-Engraver/dp/B072K24LGL?SubscriptionId=AKIAILSHYYTFIVPWUY6Q&tag=duc08-21&linkCode=xm2&camp=2025&creative=165953&creativeASIN=B072K24LGL.

1 Like

That’s a good point.

Well I’ve already made a lot of progress towards modding the printer so I’ll persevere but I’ll consider ways to mitigate the dust and debris problem. A vacuum attachment perhaps. vacuum pump

I’ve redesigned the hot end bracket to accept proper linear bearings instead of brass bushes. I bought the bearings on tatBay from China and could only get 12mm long bearings. The clips on the bracket are 8mm. I’m also designing a printed bracket that clips into the same “U” shaped slot as the hot end assembly to accept drilling and milling mechanism. This will have ball bearings to support a carbon fibre shaft holding the chuck and a flexible drive shaft driven from a motor mounted under the control board. There’s just enough space to mount this in a printed clip. It will drive more carbon fibre rods through a printed gearbox with a couple of bevel gears to the top of the rear of the printer. A hex drive will connect this to the drill head via the flexible drive.