K8400 not reaching Printing Temp

Dear collegue 3D-printers

Our school 3D printer (Velleman K8400) doesn’t want to print any more. It’s been in our hands for several years doing a great job. But since a few weeks he doesn’t reach the Printing temperature any more. We tried replacing the nozzle, temp sensor and heating cartridge but no succes so far. I’m not an expert in all of this but this is what I noticed and what i think:

• The temp is raising slower then it used to be
  • The fans are always on 100% in Vertex software (165 Fan speed in settings) while heating
  • If i shutdown the Fans the printer is able to reach the 210°C
  • While i unload filament (and extruder is in middle) the problem is less visible but still heating slow
  • The firmware installed should be the latest version (1.4 i guess?)

And here I’m stuck. I get the feeling the fans are cooling too much and the heating cartridge can’t do his job properly. Or the heating cartridge isn’t strong enough any more but my collegue replaced this part lately. It’s like those 2 are fighting against eachother instead of coworking. Any suggestions/advice/help? Our kids would be extremely gratefull if we can print their keychains they designed themselves!

Greetings
Ynsen Devos

Update: Just measured the voltages:
Heating Cartridge 13,3 V
Both Fans: 11V
Temp sensor: 2V

I had the same problem a couple of times. And i solved bij replacing the plug connecting the motherboard to the printhead. The plug was actually a little bit melted.

Do you mean the large connector with all the collored wires next to the filament tube arriving at the printhead? Seems like you have to disassamble quite a lot to swap that cable. I just unplugged it on printhead, and no signs of any damage there… :pensive:.

Meanwhile I found out that: