K8200 Eteps Calibration

Hello,

I believe I have a problem with under extrusion. When I set Repetier-Host (v0.95F) to extrude 100mm, it only pushes through 80mm.

My Esteps/mm setting on my VM8201 display reads +0600.0

The nozzle temperature is set at 190 degrees and the wingnut is torqued one and a half turns and I am using 3mm PLA.

I have watched various YouTube movies on this subject but the Esteps/mm number of 0600.0 does not make sense and, no matter how much I dial the numbers, extruding 100mm would take for ages!

Can anyone take the time to explain how to go about calculating my correct Estep/mm number. I’m an elderly novice so please be gentle :slight_smile:

Regards
Tom

Do not change the E steps. Feedrate is responsible for the speed (marked in yellow), you can raise to 120-150.
And acceleration (check feedrare first)
But remember that the feedrate must be matched to the possibility of heating the nozzle.
You need to set up gradually and check.
In the worst case scenario, you can break the gears.
If the feedrate is too high in relation to the possibility of hotend.
Good luck.

Thank you for the feedback.

I’m not quite understanding what is required. Where do I find the above code. Does that require altering?

I have tried using the feedrate slide bar in Repetier-Host, adjusting it slowly from 100 to a maximum of 150 with no real joy.

I’m attempting to print the small gear for the extruder stepper motor. This gear should be 19.5mm long. I have used both Reperier-Host and Ultimaker Cura 5.6 and have also tried printing directly from an SD card but still get the same results. The gear diameter is correct on all of the prints but the height remains constantly incorrect, falling well short at 16.5mm.

I have a friend with a 3D printer who has printed the same file as I am using. It prints fine.

I’m a complete novice on this subject so I hope you understand.

Thank you
Tom

Extruder steps should be
E=(200x16x(43/10))/(3.14x7.52)
E= 582.73478