K8101 wrong resistor (10k) included in the package or wrong instructions?

Hi all
Im doing the velleman K8101 and i think I’m missing a 1K resistor.
It is the R5 on the instructions.
Of the included resistors i only one left, after installing all the others correctly and it is a 10k resistor (tested with the multimeter too).

The instructions say not to follow the packaged taped resistors blindly and fortunately i didn’t but it looks i am missing the 1K resistor (R5) and instead innthe package there was a 11K resistor which in fact doesn’t go anywhere.
However as the 10k was on the taped resistors series in the correct order for R5, i am not confused whether infact the value on the instructions is wrong and the 10K resistoris inf act the one i need to use?
I am completely stuck please help thanks
Please advise.
Many thanks

Hello
I am a beginner in electronics so remain critical on my comments. (and thank you for correcting me if I’m wrong )

The resistor R5 seems to be used with the LM317 to transform the 5V of the USB into ~ 3V (according to the diagram of the illustrated_assembly_manual_k8101.pdf page 14)

If I am based on LM317 - Wikipedia and the formula to calculate the output voltage of LM317 when it is used as a voltage regulator, it is absolutely necessary to have a resistance of 1K Ohms to obtain ~ 3V output in this configuration.

So for me, it is an error in the kit, you end up with a resistor of the wrong value and not an error in the documentation it seems that it is indeed an R5 of 1K Ohms that you have to use.

For references:

https://www.velleman.eu/products/view/?id=410568&lang=en&country=ch

Thank you
What an oddity they put the wrong resistor in the kit!
I shall wait for further confirmation from other members. Of note i found another thread in this forum with someone with exactly the same issue but unfortunately there were no answers in the thread.
Many thanks