K8048 – self-made circuit with PIC16F627

Hello

I’m very new to this stuff and I don’t know if this is the right board to ask this but I’ll ask anyway.

I built my own circuit with the PIC16F627 from the K8048. On it is Demo1 from it. You can see it with the link. However it doesn’t work and I don’t know why. Is the programming wrong or did I put a wire on the wrong pin or something like that? May you help me please?

S.

img114.imageshack.us/my.php?image=circuitsm5.jpg

Hi snake,

I note from your image that you don’t have any resistors between the PIC and the LED’s. You also don’t have a crystal and capacitors…have you changed the program to use the internal oscillator?

Have a look at this thread:
[forum.vellemanprojects.eu/t/migration-to-breadboard/1088/1)

There is a link in one of the posts, where you can download the schematic for the K8048 in PDF form. You will also note in the thread, that a 3K3 resistor needs to go between +5V & Vpp (PIN 4). Don’t forget to supply power through a regulated 5V supply, or through a 5V regulator (78L05 etc) Switches are connected to RA0 through RA3, with the other side of the switch going to +5V. On the PIC side of the switches, there should be a 10K resistor connected to ground for each pin…look at the schematic and all will become clear.

HTH.

Here is a link to how the circuit should be constructed:

img.photobucket.com/albums/v47/M … ircuit.jpg

Hello

I assume I won’t need the 680 resistors in front of the LEDs because I have 5V LEDs? I think I won’t need the switches either?

If I turn on the internal oscillator I won’t need the stuff on pin 15? Could you please give me the line of code to do this?

I just don’t understand why I need power on the Vpp pin. I thought this is some kind of programming voltage and not needed during runtime?

I have to admit that there was no fitting power supply around and my resistors are gone so I used the USB port power. I think this is regulated?

[quote=“Snake”]Hello