Just bought a HPS140i and test signal is not square

Hi everyone,

I have just bought a HPS140i from Maplin, first of all the box says that the test probe should be included with the 140i but they made me buy one separately is this right?

Secondly I assumed it would have a PC output but doesn’t look like it does… (my fault I guess for not checking)

Thirdly, from looking at the introduction videos on youtube it looks like the test signal from the back should be a perfect square wave but I get some kind of misshaped square which doesn’t look at all like a square wave.

Sorry for the newbie questions but I am new to oscilloscopes, I only need it to measure the inductance of a coil I assume the HPS140i will be good enough for this?

Hi,

There are 2 different models.
HPS140 (no probe) HPS140I (with probe)

It’s not stated anywhere that there is a PC I/F.

The test signal in the back is to set up the X10 portion of the probe.
Set the probe to X10
Set the scope to X10
Set the voltage per division to 1V
Set the time per division to 0.1 ms
Select AC input

Adjust the trimmer on the probe until the square wave is flat.

Just so you know I got these instruction from the HPS50 users manual.
However I think they are the same for the HPS140 / I

I hope this helps.

[quote=“Wrong Way”]Hi,

There are 2 different models.
HPS140 (no probe) HPS140I (with probe)

It’s not stated anywhere that there is a PC I/F.

The test signal in the back is to set up the X10 portion of the probe.
Set the probe to X10
Set the scope to X10
Set the voltage per division to 1V
Set the time per division to 0.1 ms
Select AC input

Adjust the trimmer on the probe until the square wave is flat.

Just so you know I got these instruction from the HPS50 users manual.
However I think they are the same for the HPS140 / I

I hope this helps.[/quote]

Thanks for your advice
Yes mine is the 140i and says probe included in small writing on the box (although I didn’t see this before I bought it)