I don't get it - this kit teaches you nothing about USB?

Please advise - either I am seriously missing something or I feel completely ripped off.

I bought this kit to learn a bit about communicating with devices over USB. I’m a professional software developer looking to dabble a bit on the hardware side.

Your kit teaches nothing about USB as far as I can see. The sample code provided does all the interesting work via a precompiled dll. Non of the sample code you provide has anything to do with USB, you’re just p-invoking an unmanaged dll! This teaches nothing about the fundamentals of USB communication, I have gained no new knowledge that I can use when trying to connect to other USB devices.

I see you have published the code for the compiled dll in the forums here, but thats (a) not particularly helpful for people who can’t find the forums, and (b) requires me to learn delphi before I can learn anything about USB.

Am I missing something?

Kind Regards
Kevin

Sorry to read that this module does not meet your expectations.
Please check with your distributor for their return policy.

This doesn’t really answer any of my questions.

Please adress my issues - or do you acknowledge that your USB Tutor Module does not not/was not meant to teach a person about USB?

Kind Regards

All features, specifications, manuals and downloads for this product are available online, to allow people to check if the product suits their needs before purchase. Judging by the popularity and number of units sold, this product seems to meet the requirements of a lot of people. Once again, we are sorry that it does not meet your specific requirements, therefore we suggested that you check the return policy, as there are no other manuals or downloads available.

USB I/O at the hardware level, is sufficiently complex that nearly all makers of USB “stuff” requiring SDK sort of access use virtual COM port technology as offered by FTDI and others; or as HID (Human Interface Device) interfaces.