E3D-V6 install thread

Hello everyone

I have just installed my e3d-v6 hotend I have found very little online about installing these on vellemans 3d printers. Apparently a J. carter made some sort of tut or so, but it seem to be no longer available not sure why. But I thought it would be great to start off a thread dedicated to installing these hotends. Kind of a Q&A for the E3D-V6 hotends.

I will start off by saying the installation at first seems tricky for me as I am new to these machines but once I got stuck in it wasn’t so bad. But I do have 1 lingering question I hope you guys can help with.

Do I need to change any settings in the firmware for this hotend to run on this machine?

Thanks guys/gals

Hi.
Normally ther is no need to change the firmware for using an E3D hotend.
It can be, you have to set a different thermistor type for the hotend, depending on what thermistor came with the hotend.

If you have questions about the mounting options, just feel free to ask.
There are several designs for that on Thingiverse.

[quote=“ichbinsnur”]Hi.
Normally ther is no need to change the firmware for using an E3D hotend.
It can be, you have to set a different thermistor type for the hotend, depending on what thermistor came with the hotend.

If you have questions about the mounting options, just feel free to ask.
There are several designs for that on Thingiverse.[/quote] Thanks for that! I have the Hotend installed on the machine, I am just having issue with it in regards to the heated bed. From what I understand the heated bed and the E3D hotend can’t run on the vellman controller board, not sure if this 100%. So I am not sure about how to wire up my heated bed to my 24v PSU.

By the way I found a link to Jake Carters E3D-V6 install tut here is the link for anyone in need forum.e3d-online.com/index.php?t … /#post-528

I use the E3D heater cartridge on my k8200 for 2 years now and never had any problems.
The Mosfets and board traces can handle the load easily.