A (sort-of) K8048 success story

Hi all,

before I start, I’ll freely admit I’m a complete noob to PIC’s and a relative amateur at electronics, so don’t ask me anything about them, but I am quite proficient at building things and soldering.

Yesterday afternoon, I bought the K8048 kit at one of a well known chain of electronics stores in the UK. Realising that my laptop doesn’t have a serial port, but thinking my Desktop does, I chipped in for a USB - Serial adapter too. (I’m not on my own here…maybe Velleman should CLEARLY state, on the OUTSIDE of the packaging, that a genuine serial port is compulsory!..Not a problem though, as I can use the adapter elsewhere.) We’ll get to this in a minute.

Anyway, I built the kit as per the instruction booklet, then made up the serial cable. I would like to suggest an amendment to the placing of the RS232 socket on the PCB…Could it be moved outwards slightly, in future PCB layouts, so that the male d-sub cover doesn’t have to be removed to make a connection? I’m digressing slightly, so back to building the kit…

Following the (mostly-correct) instructions, after reading the preceding page (5 for English-speakers) where it clearly states “AXIAL COMPONENTS ARE TAPED IN THE CORRECT MOUNTING SEQUENCE!” I was left wondering where ZD1 was. Again, an amendment could be helpful…“AXIAL COMPONENTS ARE TAPED IN THE CORRECT MOUNTING SEQUENCE! EXCEPT ZD1, WHICH IS PLACED LAST TO AVOID CONFUSION WITH D1 TO D7.”