A few questions

Hi, I received an EDU01 kit for Christmas but am an absolute beginner when it comes to electronics.

I managed to complete the first basic lighting an LED project without any difficulty but am now struggling on project 2.

Is this kit intended to be used with other learning material? I appreciate space is limited in the booklet but it doesn’t really clearly explain the fundamentals to a beginner how this circuit is supposed to work. E.g. the last line of “how it works” is “R3 will prevent the transistor for unwanted functioning”. That line doesn’t make much sense to me. What unwanted functioning?

On the diagram there is a curved arrow to the left of a jumper wire then a finger between the two. I’m assuming you use your finger across the two wires to complete the circuit. Here is a really stupid question though. I’m using the supplied flat cables. I’ve cut two strips to create the jumpers. Surely the grey covering is an insulation material and I need to strip that to expose bare wire in order to make the circuit? Like I said, a stupid question but the booklet doesn’t specify that the insulation has to be removed, only that the wires should be seperated before use. Looking ahead at the other projects, I’m assuming the wires can be used with the insulation in place to avoid any shorts?

Jumping ahead to project 4, there is mention of the 0,5m supplied wire. I’m assuming this is the loop of black wire provided rather than one of the flat cables and I will need to strip the ends before use.

Jumping ahead to project 10, there is mention of 2 wires to place in the cup of water. Is this the same 0,5 black wire as used in project 4 (it doesn’t specify 0,5m here like it did for project 4 hence my confusion)? If so, as only one is supplied, is it intended that this should be cut in two or am I missing a wire?